# Managing Cloud Accounts

> An account is your portal to Directus Cloud. You can use it to manage your teams, team members, projects and billing.

To avoid confusion, "user" is the term for user profiles in a Directus Project, while the terms "account" and "team
member" are used in the context of Directus Cloud. Accounts on Directus Cloud and Users in a Directus Project are
two separate systems.

## Create Account and Login

![Create account and login Page](/img/cloud_login.png)

You can create and log in to your free Cloud Account automatically with GitHub. If you
don't have a GitHub account or prefer not to use this login method, email-and-password login is available, as well.

## Manage Account

![Cloud account settings page](/img/cloud_settings.png)

To update your name or email, click <icon name="material-symbols:account-circle-full">



</icon>

 in the dashboard header to enter your account page, then toggle <icon name="material-symbols:edit-outline">



</icon>

 to allow edits.

Change your name and email as desired, then click the "Save" button.

## Reset Password

![User account](/img/cloud_settings.png)

To reset your password, click <icon name="material-symbols:account-circle-full">



</icon>

 in the dashboard header to enter your account page, then click "Send Reset Link". An email will be sent to reset your password.

Log in to the email associated with your account, open the email and click "Reset Password". You will be directed to the password reset page.

Reset the password as desired and click "Reset Password".

## Destroy Account

![Settings page with "Destroy Account" button](/img/cloud_settings.png)

To destroy your Directus Cloud account, click <icon name="material-symbols:account-circle-full">



</icon>

 in the dashboard header to enter your account page, then toggle <icon name="material-symbols:local-fire-department-rounded">



</icon>

 and an input box will appear.

Type in your password, then click the "Destroy Account" button.

<callout icon="i-lucide-circle-x" className="max-w-2xl" color="error">

Destroying your account completely removes your account and data from Directus Cloud. This action is permanent and
irreversible. Proceed with caution!

</callout>

<callout icon="i-lucide-info">

**Must leave all Teams before deleting**<br />



You cannot destroy your account if you are a member of one or more teams. Leave all associated teams before destroying
your account.

</callout>
